Approved: February 13, 2020

MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 248 GIRARD, KS JANUARY 9, 2020

The Board of Education of Unified School District 248 met at the Board Office on Thursday, January 9, 2020. President, Beth Murphy, called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm. Board members present were: Roger Breneman, Dave Goble, Lori Johnson, Peggy Marshall, Beth Murphy, Kelly Peak and Dale Shireman. Also present were: Superintendent, Blaise Bauer; Clerk, Becky Mein; HS Principal, Todd Ferguson; HS Assistant Principal, Chris Swartz; GMS Principal, BJ Pruitt; RVH Principal, Mark LaTurner; RVH Assistant Principal, Tina Daniel; GTA Representative, Brandon Callaway; Ag Ed Student Teacher, Caleb Powelson; and Cecily Perry, Hometown Girard.

Absent was Board Treasurer, Laurie Masters.

Dale Shireman moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion for the approval of the agenda with addition item #13A-Vacation; approval of the minutes of the December 12, 2019 board meeting, approval of the treasurer's report and the bills be approved for payment, amounting to \$444,731,98. Motion carried. 7-0.

Brandon Callaway introduced Caleb Powelson, Agriculture Education Student Teacher.

Dave Goble moved, Roger Breneman seconded the motion to approve the following donation: \$3,000.00 - Community Foundation of Southeast Kansas-Champions for Learners (PITSCO). Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Mr. LaTurner, Chairperson, presented the District Accreditation update (KESA) and the Accreditation Team visit will be April 9, 2020.

Mr. LaTurner presented the Pre-K update about enrollment and transportation.

Dave Goble moved, Dale Shireman seconded the motion to approve the following KASB recommended policy updates. GRCG-Leave and Absences changed to GARG; retire policy GBRH-Leaves and Absences; GCRH-Vacation-update to handbook; and DEF-Investment of Funds. Motion carried. 7-0.

Dale Shireman moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to accept the bid from CDL, for \$218,167.00 for Phase III-GHS Heating and Air Phase work from CDL. Motion carried. 7 – 0.

Todd Ferguson presented the 2020-2021 District School Calendar, with the Board. Dale Shireman moved and Dave Goble seconded the motion to appoint Beth Murphy as the Board Representative to the Calendar Committee. Motion carried. 7-0.

Dave Goble moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to enter Executive Session at 6:47 pm, for a period of 5 minutes, for Discussion of Non-Elected Personnel exception under KOMA with the Board Members, Superintendent and Building Administrators present. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Back to regular session at 6:52 pm.

Dave Goble moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to enter Executive Session at 6:52 pm, for a period of 5 minutes, for Discussion of Non-Elected Personnel exception under KOMA with the Board Members, Superintendent and Building Administrators present. Motion carried. 7-0.

Back to regular session at 6:57 pm.

Dave Goble moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to enter Executive Session at 6:57 pm, for a period of 5 minutes, for Discussion of Non-Elected Personnel exception under KOMA with the Board Members, Superintendent and Building Administrators present. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Back to regular session at 7:02 pm.

Roger Breneman moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to accept the retirement of Mark McFarland-GHS History Teacher. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Principal reports were distributed at the Board meeting.

Superintendent, Blaise Bauer, reminded Board Members about the upcoming NSBA Advocacy Institute.

Superintendent, Blaise Bauer, presented the Board with certificates, as January is National School Board Month.

Beth reported on the Southeast Kansas 637 Interlocal Report and Lori Johnson reported on the Greenbush meeting.

Dale Shireman moved, Dave Goble seconded the motion to enter Executive Session at 7:07 pm, for a period of 5 minutes, for Discussion of Non-Elected Personnel (Superintendent Evaluation) exception under KOMA with the Board Members only. Motion carried. 7-0.

Back to regular session at 7:07 pm.

Peggy Marshall moved, Dave Goble seconded the motion for adjournment of the meeting at 7:10 pm. Motion carried. 7 - 0

Becky Mein Clerk